A Sonnet from Despair

Destroy my fear: lay bare and cleanse these veins,
Too long entangled in the shrieking haze
of Terror; soften the frantic refrains
and give me songs to quiet anxious days.

Befriend my ghosts–calm hauntings that howl hate;
reminders both of failures and of wounds.
Ease blows I have received and blows I’ve dealt
and lay them quiet in their waiting tombs.

Uplift my sorrow–clear my apathy,
That muffling snow that freezes love and fear.
Deliver me, o Holy Trinity,
From all the demons that have stalked my years.

Or walk with me, at least, and be my friend,
So I at last can face my nightmares’ end.

Thoughts?

